Goals

“Setting goals gives your life meaning. The feeling of setting a goal,
working hard, and then achieving it is the best.”
Sarah Jamieson, Olympian

I am a dreamer. And as a dreamer, I have many goals. I have short-term goals, long-term goals, realistic goals and unrealistic goals. Some goals are within striking distance, some I have much work to accomplish. Below are a few goals I hope to meet this year.

  • Run a 30-min 5K
  • Finish a half marathon in 2:30
  • Increase upper body strength
  • Lose 20 lbs of fat
  • Run a marathon

How am I going to do it? Well, I do have a plan for each of those goals.

RUN A 30-MIN 5K
Why? It’s simple. I want to increase my competitiveness. I want to win! All of my training so far has been for endurance. Which means I can run non-stop for a long time at a slower pace. That’s great for long runs, but for short ones, I need to pick up the pace. In order to run a 30-min 5K, I have to get my 5K pace to 6:00/km. It’s doable. I’m going to incorporate some speed work into my running schedule. My training plan calls for fartlek runs and strides. Both these techniques are good for increasing speed. I also have to incorporate hill work at some point.

FINISH A HALF MARATHON IN 2:30
Why? So I can go on to run a marathon and finish in the allotted time. To accomplish this, I will be using the Run the Edge program again, but this time I’ll be adding speed work into the mix. To make 2:30 I need to increase my goal pace to 11:26 min/mile. I also hope to increase my cross training workouts to 3x per week. In the past I’ve definitely seen improvements in my running when I go to boot camp and body combat on a regular basis.

INCREASE UPPER BODY STRENGTH
Not just upper body, but overall strength. I want to get back into shape so I can climb four flights of stairs without being winded. There are many yoga poses that I’d like to do, but I don’t have the arm or shoulder strength for (handstand, I’m looking at you). Plus, I’ve lost my push up. And I want it back! While cross training (boot camp and yoga) will help, what I really need to do is incorporate weight lifting into my training regimen. Admittedly, that will be the hardest for me to do.

LOSE 20 LBS OF FAT
Why? The lighter you are the less work you have to do to run. And all of the health benefits that come with a lower body fat percentage. Again, the cross training and yoga will help with this, but I have to get back to the clean eating that worked so well for me in the past.

RUN A MARATHON
The thought of running 26.2 miles scares me. I’ve let fear stop me from going after the things I’ve wanted for too long. Not this time. This time I have a plan! I used the Run the Edge half marathon training plan when I trained for my second half. I like the point system it employs to advance through the program. It works for me so I will be using the full marathon version of the program to reach this goal.

So there it is. The goals I set for myself at the beginning of the year. I started using the Believe Training Journal at the beginning of the year, but it took me a few weeks to come up with my goals (and even longer to blog them) and a plan to accomplish them.

Leave a Reply

