Level 7, Part 1

This week was interesting. My favorite park was still underwater from all the rain we had last week so I had to find other places to run. That’s not a bad thing though. I’ve enjoyed running routes that I haven’t done in a while. Plus, after two tries, I’ve earned enough points to move on to level 8!

PART ONE—JUNE 1–7
Yes, I did not complete level 7 as I was supposed to because of an error on my part. Turns out I completely made up one of my workouts, which means I didn’t put in the time or miles to continue. But that’s OK. I still had a good week.

My week began with an anniversary run. My Nike+ app and I celebrated by doing a nighttime 5K. I felt great (earlier I was bummed because I forgot to grab my workout gear in the morning and had to miss boot camp). I’m happy to say that it has been a good year with Nike+ despite our frequent disagreements and frustrations.

Tuesday was a mile streak run at 10:38 minutes. I was incredibly happy with that time, as I’ve been working on getting my 5K to 30 minutes.

Wednesday was National Running Day. As the new organizer for the Katy Area Runners Meetup group, I hosted a 5K at a local park. Turn out was low, but we still had a good time. I started the event with some light yoga and stretching, then an easy run at 14:00 m/m. I ended the workout with strides. I’m looking forward to doing it again next year.

Thursday was the highlight of the week—Flash Mob Race #1. I absolutely love doing this race series put on by Sun & Ski Sports. Unfortunately, I rolled my ankle on the trail. It wasn’t bad, but I had to walk quite a bit. I finished in 42:54, and won a Newton visor for my efforts.

On Friday I tried out a boot camp class at 24 Hr Fitness. This class replaces my Body Combat class while the instructor is out on maternity leave. The class was OK, but not what I was looking for. Later that day I did my second running workout—70 minutes at medium pace. I was able to complete 5.6 miles in that time.

My first attempt at heat training did not go so well. Saturday was supposed to be my third workout, but the heat beat me; proof that I need heat training to be able to finish the Habanero Hundred in August. I finished one mile to keep my run streak going though.

Sunday, this is when things went wonky. I was supposed to do four miles at goal pace with jogging in between miles. Instead I did 4.6 miles at medium pace. Normally I would just call it even and move on, but the purpose of running at goal pace is to help get the feel of it so you don’t go out too fast on race day, which is extremely important on long distance runs. I was too tired and it was too late to do another workout so my only option was to repeat the level.

Part 2

One thought on “Level 7, Part 1

Leave a Reply

