Texas 10 Fort Worth

Race Day: October 11, 2015

After Huntsville, I had been looking forward to Texas 10 Fort Worth’s beautiful scenery and gently rolling hills. Last year I PR’d at the race, and I enjoyed the course so I was hoping to repeat this year. The boy decided to join me at this race, which is always a plus in my book.

Packet pickup was a breeze the day before at the Ft Worth Running Company. I picked up a tube of nuun, and then headed to the river for a little pre-race yoga. Afterwards, we headed to my cousin’s place where we had a spaghetti dinner and made final preparations for Sunday.

Parking on race day was easy and close to the start/finish line. After the requisite pre-race photos and a warm up, the boy and I lined up for the start. Shortly thereafter, the gun sounded, and we were off. The first mile was more trail than pavement because we were running up onto a levy. After we descended the levy, we were on smooth, paved trail.

The course seemed to be a bit confusing because people were running both clockwise and counter clockwise on the course. Later I discovered it was because one of the signs had fallen over at a fork and it wasn’t clear which way the course went. One runner stopped to ask if she should turn around and go back. I told her to just keep going forward.

I absolutely love the course along the Trinity River. The park has some very scenic views of the river with downtown Fort Worth as a backdrop. I was tempted to stop and take photos, but I had a goal to make the top nine. I ran with a group of slightly faster run/walkers, and I used them to pace myself until they split off for the five-mile finish. I had a good solid pace for the first loop, but I wasn’t able to keep it up for the second.

By the time I hit mile 7, my big toe was giving me a little bit of trouble. I kept going and tried to push, but it just wasn’t happening. I knew I wouldn’t make my goal finishing time. At mile 8, I realized the course was short and my time wouldn’t matter anyway. I made it back up the levy and into the finish with 8.68 miles on my watch. Although I finished in less time than my previous PR, I cannot count it as a PR because of the short course. I ended up just missing my goal, placing 10th in AG. The boy placed 2nd in his 5-mile AG.

This is the second race in a row that the Texas 10 Series has had issues with distance. I really hope this doesn’t become a trend. Post-race food consisted of prepackaged sliced apples and sausage taquitos from McDonald’s.

Official time: 1:45:22.3

ft worth stats

Leave a Reply

