2017: Week 4 Workouts

January 23 – January 29

This week was pretty much one long rest day. My calves were still super sore from Horseshoe, and my back was still healing from the tearing I got from the hydration pack. I did manage to get two boot camp sessions and one mid-week run.

Camp Gladiator Nassau Bay
Camp Gladiator Nassau Bay – Photo by Ashley Tomi

I could not move very well on Tuesday. Any type of jumping motions were off the table at boot camp. Good thing the trainers always give us an “option for success!” I certainly had to opt for those.

Camp Gladiator Nassau Bay
Camp Gladiator Nassau Bay – Photo by Ashley Tomi

Thursday was another boot camp session. This time, my legs worked. Yes! Plus, I was able to get a two-mile recovery run beforehand. My legs felt pretty good, though my left hip was pretty tight. Those runners lunges will tell you exactly what you need to pay attention to. Ouch!

By Saturday I was feeling fully recovered, and I was able to go on a hike at the lovely Bastrop State Park with my friend Kerri after a tree planting event.

Tree Planting at Bastrop State Park
Tree Planting at Bastrop State Park

We had a fun time planting our 14 trees to help restore all the loblolly pines that were destroyed in a massive fire five years prior. Later that evening, I traveled to Boerne for my race on Sunday.  You can read all about that fantastic run in my Texas 10 Boerne race report.

Texas 10 Boerne
Texas 10 Boerne

Happy running!

Leave a Reply

